About Ireland

Destination Guide

History of Ireland

Sport in Ireland

Weather in Ireland

Geologically

Travel Info

Wildlife in Ireland

Route Guides

Festivals & Events

Activities Ireland

Site Map

About Us

Link To Us
       
Your Are Here - Home > Counties > Dublin County > Dublin North
The County of Fingal (Irish: Contae Fhine Gall, meaning ‘County of the Foreign Tribe’) is a county in Ireland. It was formed from part of the historic County Dublin.

The Vikings referred to the area as Dyflinarskiri, the hinterland of Dublin. The original name, however, derived from the old Gaelic Fionn Gall, meaning fair strangers, denoting the Norse, whereas south county Dublin was called Dubh Gall, denoting the occupying Danes. Early Anglo-Norman versions of the name include the similar Fiehengall, Fynnegal, Fyngal, and Finegal, which led to the mis-identification with Fine Gall.

Fingalian is an extinct language, a hybrid of Old English and Old Norse, with Gaelic influences, which was spoken by the people of Fingal until the mid-1800s.

History
The first administrative identity going by a variant of the original name was the grant of the Lordship of Fingal, a Prescriptive Barony, confirmed by letters patent from King John to Walter de Lacy and his heirs in perpetuity, in 1208, and based on the latter's father Hugh de Lacy's holding the same on a basis of grand serjeanty for his services as bailiff to the King. The lordship of Fingal was a paramount superiority over several sub-infeudated smaller baronies (such as Castleknock, Santry, Balrothery), and thus eventually accrued vicecomital attributes leading to the granting of the first viscountcy in Ireland in 1478 to a Preston, Lord Gormanston, the Premier Viscount of Ireland, who at the time was the main landowner in the area, and a direct descendant of Walter de Lacy. That viscountcy was called after Gormanston as the latter was the principle seat and Manor of the Prestons at the time, having been acquired upon their relinquishment of occupancy of the Manor of Fyngallestoun. The Viscounts Gormanston continued to retain the Lordship of the latter under reversion.

The heraldic crest for Fingal reads "Flúirse Talaimh is Mara" meaning "Abundance of Land and Water". The motto reflects the strong farming and fishing ties historically associated with the area. It also features a Viking longboat, which represents the arrival of the Norse in Fingal, where they became integrated with the existing Irish.

In 1210, Fingal was included in County Dublin, one of the first twelve counties created by King John during the shiring of Ireland. Over the centuries, Fingal included several other baronies, namely Finglas, Feltrim, Howth, Shankill, and Swords. A peerage title as Earl of Fingall was created in 1628, by King Charles I of England, and granted to Lucas Plunkett, Baron Fingall, whose first wife, Elizabeth O'Donnell of Tyrconnell thus became 1st Countess of Fingall. The Plunketts also intermarried with the Prestons, Viscounts Gormanston. The title went extinct upon the death of the 12th and last Earl in 1984, along with a peerage barony of the same name, not to be confused with the titular prescriptive barony of Fingal, long retained by the Viscount Gormanston as an incorporeal hereditament in gross, until passed to the late Patrick Denis O'Donnell.


 
 
Dublin City
Dublin North
Dublin South
 
 
     
     
EasyTripIreland.com copyright 2009 - Designed by Jimju.com
EasyTripIreland.com, Waterford City, Ireland
Terms and Conditions, Privacy Statement, Disclaimer, Site Map
Click a Town Below for More Info
Dublin North
  HOME      HOTELS      COUNTIES      MAPS      ROUTES      EVENTS      INFORMATION
Return Home
Dublin North
In: Dublin
People: 239,813
Speak:
Type: Market Area
GPS: -6.3572, 53.2886