About Ireland

Destination Guide

History of Ireland

Sport in Ireland

Weather in Ireland

Geologically

Travel Info

Wildlife in Ireland

Route Guides

Festivals & Events

Activities Ireland

Site Map

About Us

Link To Us
       
Your Are Here - Home > Counties > Galway County > Tuam
Tuam is located in the northern half of Galway. The town has many places of interest such as St Mary's Cathedral. The town also has working mill called Little Mill, which shows the workings of a mill and how old Ireland use to function. This is a great place to come to if you want to discover the surrounding area such as the Galway landscape and the surrounding countryside.

History
The High Cross of Tuam was erected in 1152 possibly to commemorate the appointment of the first Archbishop of Tuam, Archbishop Aodh O'hOisín (Hugh O'Hession). An inscription at the base calls for "A prayer for O'hOisín; for the Abbot; by whom it was made". It is reputed to have been the tallest of the High Crosses of Ireland, but its artistry is scarred by the absence of the top portion of the main shaft. The sandstone Cross was originally erected in proximity to the earliest Cathedral erected in the town, a part of which still remains and is incorporated into St Mary's Cathedral (12th century red sandstone chancel arch in Irish Romanesque style which is a National monument). The original High Cross or Market cross may have been erected close to what is now the Market Square and High Street. When the first Cathedral collapsed after being destroyed by fire in 1184, the High Cross was dismantled into pieces each under different ownership. The archaeologist, George Petrie, discovered the base of the High Cross c.1820 and went on to discover 2 other pieces in other locations. The High Cross also contains another portion from another High Cross, a ringed cross-section on top.

The Cross was then brought to Dublin for the Great Exhibition of 1852. However, prior to its return to Tuam, a disagreement arose between the two Churches. Catholic Archbishop Dr. John MacHale claimed the Cross rightfully belonged to Catholics, with Dean Charles Seymour of the Church of Ireland asserting a Protestant claim. Agreement was reached with the Cross erected half way between both Cathedrals and positioned so that it was visible from all main streets of the town. It was situated in the Square in the town centre in 1874.

By the late 1980s, it was evident that the decorative stone carving of the Cross was deteriorating due to weathering and pollution. It was also felt that there was a danger from traffic passing within feet of the monument. After lengthy discussions, the Office of Public Works, removed the monument from the Square in April 1992. Following cleaning and minor restoration the High Cross was re-erected in the south transept of St. Mary's Cathedral where it is now situated, in proximity to its original location. St. Mary's Cathedral also houses the shaft of a third Cross fashioned from limestone. It is thought that all of the High Crosses would have marked the boundaries of the monastic section of Tuam.


Sport
Gaelic Games
The town has a strong Gaelic Athletic Association tradition: Tuam Stars, founded in 1888, are the local Gaelic football team, and are one of Galway's most successful clubs. From the period 1953–1960, Tuam Stars were the dominant force in the Galway County Championship winning seven titles in a row, with players such as Seán Purcell and Frank Stockwell playing at the time. St. Jarlath's College, Tuam has won the Hogan Cup (National Championship for secondary schools) a record 12 times since the competition began in 1946.

Tuam Stadium (Páirc Naomh Iarflaith) was officially opened on May 21st 1950 by the Archbishop of Tuam, Rev. Dr. Walsh. It became “the home of Galway football” and has a long history and tradition, having hosted many important matches including Connacht Senior Football Finals. A new €5 million redevelopment project has been granted planning permission including a new 6,400 capacity stand and ancillary facilities. Tuam Stadium Development Committee is currently fundraising for this ambitious project. Football
There are also two local soccer teams: Tuam Celtic F.C., founded in 1974 who play their home matches at Celtic Park, Cloonthue. Dynamo Blues, founded in 1978 whose home is the College Field, Athenry Road.

Rugby
Rugby, while third to football and soccer, has long been popular in Tuam. Tuam RFC draws its members from Tuam and its hinterland and plays its home matches at Garraun Park, Dublin Road.

Golf
Tuam Golf Club was established on the 17th October 1904 with the original clubhouse situated at Cloonascragh on the Athenry Rd. Later, the club relocated to Mayfield, on the Dunmore Rd., in 1937 due to a deterioration of the Cloonascragh course. Although, in March 1940 a new club called the Commercial Golf Club was established, which renovated the course and remained for many years at Cloonascragh. World renowned Irish golfer Christy O'Connor Snr joined Tuam Golf Club as club professional in 1948. In order to develop an 18 hole course, Tuam Golf Club relocated to Barnacurragh (close to the original Cloonascragh course) and a new clubhouse and the first 9 holes were opened in 1975. 18 holes came into play by 1979, on the course designed by golf architect, Eddie Hackett. Improvement works have continued over the years with Christy O'Connor Jnr advising the club on course improvement works.

 
 
Galway City
Ballinasloe
Loughrae
Tuam
 
 
     
     
EasyTripIreland.com copyright 2009 - Designed by Jimju.com
EasyTripIreland.com, Waterford City, Ireland
Terms and Conditions, Privacy Statement, Disclaimer, Site Map
Click a Town Below for More Info
Tuam
  HOME      HOTELS      COUNTIES      MAPS      ROUTES      EVENTS      INFORMATION
Return Home
Tuam
In: Galway
People: 2,997
Speak: English, Irish
Type: Market Town
GPS: -8.85, 53.5167